Dates announced for Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Dates announced for Lok Sabha Elections 2019

The General elections will start from 11th April and will continue till 19th May. The counting will take place on 23rd May and the polls will take place in seven phases. The photo voter slip is used for guidance. Sunil Arora, Chief Election commissioner said that around 90 crore voters are eligible for voting in 543 Lok Sabha constituencies. Around 15 million voters are in age group of 18-19 years.

Schedule of 2019 Lok Sabha Elections

The phase 1 on 11th April election is projected to occur in 20 states with 91 seats. The phase 2 will start from 18th April in 13 states with 97 seats. The phase 3 will start from 23rd April in 14 states with the projected seat of 115. On 29th April, the phase 4 will start in 9 states on around 71 seats. The phase 5 will take place on 6th May in 7 states on 51 seats. The phase 6 will take place on 12th May in 7 states on around 59 seats. The last seven phase of election will start on 19th May in 8 states on 59 seats.

Also Read:   
From ‘7 RCR’ to ‘7 LKM’

Main highlights

The election commission has started to organize meetings with state and UTs commissioners. Many rounds of discussion occurred with several departments for smooth elections. There are around 10 lakh polling stations than 9 lakhs in 2014.